Home > Coins > Coins > Red Book Series >

The Official Red Book: A Guide Book of Gold Eagle Coins: Complete Source for History, Grading, and Values by: Q. David Bowers
Official Red Book Gold Eagle Coins
Look inside!

The Official Red Book: A Guide Book of Gold Eagle Coins: Complete Source for History, Grading, and Values by: Q. David Bowers
List Price: $29.95
Our Price: $29.95
Sale Price: $26.96
You save $2.99!
Author: Q. David Bowers
Binding: Soft Cover
Copyright: 2017
Pages: 440
Size: 6 x 9 in.

Product Code: SO-WHP-2017-9780794845308-X1

Description Shipping Notes

Collector Bookstore is a retailer of new books located in Leavenworth, Kansas. We specialize in price guides and reference books for the antiques and collectibles industry.

Table of Contents

Q. David Bowers brings his signature recipe of historical narrative, market analysis, and valuable advice for collectors and investors to the latest volume in Whitman's popular and award-winning Bowers Series. The Guide Book of Gold Eagle Coins covers the United States' golden $10 coins minted from the 1790s to 1933. These include some of the Philadelphia Mint's earliest coinage, the famed Turban Head eagles of 1795 to 1804; the long-running series of Liberty Head eagles, minted for nearly 70 years from the 1830s to the early 1900s; and the innovative Indian Head eagles of 1907 to 1933.

This full-color reference includes a chronicle of the nation's $10 gold pieces; an inside look at mints and the minting process; discussion of Proofs; advice on collecting gold eagles; tips on how to be a smart buyer; full-color illustrations; a coin-by-coin study, with market values, auction results, and other data; a selected bibliography; and more--all written in Bowers's engaging and informative style.

This is a one-of-a-kind guide for forming a high-quality collection of gold eagles, and is a must-have for any gold coin collector.

Foreword by Douglas Winter
Chapter 1: Overview of $10 Gold Coins
Chapter 2: Mints and Minting
Chapter 3: Proofs for Collectors
Chapter 4: Circulation and Distribution of Eagles
Chapter 5: Eagles on the Numismatic Scene
Chapter 6: Collecting $10 Gold Coins
Chapter 7: Using This Book to Understand the Market
Chapter 8: Early $10 Gold Coins, 1795--1804
Chapter 9: Liberty Head $10 Gold Coins, 1838--1907
Chapter 10: Indian Head $10 Gold Coins, 1907--1933
Appendix A: Mintage Totals of $10 Gold Goins
Appendix B: Selected Pricing Catalogs
Appendix C: Eagles in the National Numismatic Collection
Appendix D: $10 Gold Coins from Treasure Finds


Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Coins > Coins > Red Book Series
Coins > Coins